Guide · Online degrees from IITs · 2026
At least nine IITs now award a full degree you can study online or in hybrid mode: Madras, Guwahati, Patna, Jodhpur, Kanpur, Hyderabad, Bhilai, Jammu and Roorkee. Total fees run from about ₹3.3 lakh (IIT Patna's hybrid MBA) to over ₹11 lakh (IIT Roorkee's Executive MBA), and online bachelor's degrees start at about ₹3.8 lakh. Below is every one we could confirm on an IIT's own page, with fee, admission route and, where the institute says it, whether it counts the same as the campus degree. Certificates and diplomas are listed separately.
Which IITs offer an online degree in 2026?
Nine IITs have at least one degree taught mainly online that we could confirm on their own pages. They fall into three groups:
- Bachelor's degrees open to anyone who has passed Class 12, with no JEE needed: IIT Madras, IIT Guwahati, IIT Patna, IIT Jodhpur.
- M.Tech and M.Sc for graduates and working professionals, mostly without GATE: IIT Kanpur, IIT Guwahati, IIT Hyderabad, IIT Bhilai, IIT Jammu, IIT Jodhpur, IIT Madras.
- MBAs for working professionals: IIT Roorkee, IIT Jodhpur, IIT Patna.
IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay and IIT Kharagpur run large online programmes too, but what they award is a PG diploma or certificate, not a degree. Those are listed further down.
Online bachelor's degrees from IITs: fees and eligibility
Fees are the programme total the IIT states, or our arithmetic from its per-year or per-semester figure (marked). Application and test fees are excluded unless noted.
| IIT and programme | Duration | Total fee | Who can apply, and how | Mode | Same as campus degree? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIT Madras BS in Data Science and Applications | 4 to 8 years | ₹3,86,000–₹4,50,000 (joining from Jan 2026 term) (IITM fees) | Class 12, any stream; 4-week qualifier, or direct entry if eligible for the latest JEE Advanced (IITM admissions) | Online, in-person exams | No campus version exists (IITM BS FAQ) |
| IIT Madras BS in Electronic Systems | 4 to 8 years | ₹5,80,000 (IITM fees) | Class 12 with Physics and Maths; qualifier or JEE route | Online, in-person exams | Not stated |
| IIT Madras BS in Aeronautics and Space Technology (new, Feb 2026) | 4 to 8 years | ₹6,12,000 (IITM fees) | Class 12 with Physics and Maths; qualifier or JEE route | Online, in-person exams | Not stated |
| IIT Madras BS in Management and Data Science (new, Feb 2026) | Up to 8 years | ₹3,82,000–₹4,46,000 (IITM fees) | Class 12, any stream; qualifier or JEE route | Online, in-person exams | Not stated |
| IIT Guwahati BSc (Hons) in Data Science and AI | 4 years (up to 8) | ₹3,78,900 incl. ₹50,000 admission fee (IITG) | Class 12 with 60%, any stream; maths course plus qualifier test, or direct entry if JEE (Advanced) eligible | Online (Coursera), optional campus visits | Yes: "identical curricula", same recognition (IITG) |
| IIT Patna BS in CS and Data Analytics, or AI and Cyber Security | 4 years (exits at 1, 2, 3 years) | ₹4,51,200 (our arithmetic: 8 × ₹56,400 per semester) + ₹6,000 alumni fee (IITP portal) | 10+2 Science with 60% plus a JEE/CUET/NEET/BITSAT-type score, SAT, or IIT Patna's IITP-SAT and interview (IITP eligibility) | Hybrid: live online plus campus immersion | Its 2025 programme page calls it "A Regular IIT Degree" (IITP) |
| IIT Jodhpur BS/BSc in Applied AI and Data Science | 4 years (exits at 1, 2, 3 years) | ₹4,90,000 (our arithmetic: 4 × ₹1,20,000 + ₹10,000 registration) (IITJ) | 10+2 with 60% and Maths; qualifying test | Online, optional campus immersion | Not stated |
| IIT Jodhpur BS in Management and Technology | 4 years | ₹5,60,000 (IITJ) | Class 12, any stream, 60% (50% reserved); entrance test on 4 Oct 2026 | Online | Not stated |
IIT Madras now runs four online BS degrees, not two: Aeronautics and Space Technology and Management and Data Science launched in February 2026 (CODE brochure, July 2026). And IIT Guwahati's fee table now totals ₹3,78,900 including the ₹50,000 admission fee, not the ₹3.49 lakh still quoted on aggregator sites.
IIT Madras students can also stay on past the BS for an M.Tech in AI and ML. The full route from Foundation to M.Tech is 182 credits and costs ₹6,86,000–₹7,90,000 in total (IITM fees). For the full IIT Madras picture, see our IIT Madras BS degree guide and whether it is worth it.
Online and hybrid M.Tech and M.Sc from IITs
This is where "online M.Tech" searches usually end up. Most of these do not need GATE. Many expect work experience, and several need an employer letter if your project is done at work.
| IIT and programme | Duration | Total fee | Who can apply, and how | Mode | Same as campus degree? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIT Kanpur online M.Tech: Microelectronics and VLSI, RF Engineering, Wireless Networks and ML, Construction Engg and Project Mgmt, Smart Grid, Sustainable Energy Technologies | 2 to 4 years | ₹9,33,600 each (IITK) | 55% or CPI 5.5; GATE above cut-off or IIT Kanpur's online entrance test (IITK) | Online, weekend classes | Degree given at the main convocation (IITK online programmes) |
| IIT Kanpur online M.Tech in AI and ML | 2 to 4 years | ₹10,77,600 (approx.) (IITK) | As above, plus a department maths test | Online | As above |
| IIT Kanpur online M.Sc in Economics and Data Analytics | 2 to 4 years | ₹8,92,000 (IITK) | GATE/JAM or IIT Kanpur's entrance test | Online | As above |
| IIT Guwahati M.Tech in Flood and Water Resources Management | 2 to 5 years | ₹8,00,000 (IITG) | 4-year BE/BTech in Civil, Agri or allied, 60%; 1 year water-sector experience; test or interview, no GATE | Hybrid; exams on campus each trimester | Yes: identical curricula, same recognition (IITG) |
| IIT Guwahati M.Tech in Robotics and AI | 2 to 5 years | ₹8,00,000 (IITG) | 4/5-year bachelor's or a master's, 60%; no work experience needed; test or interview, no GATE | Hybrid; exams on campus | Yes: identical curricula and duration (IITG) |
| IIT Hyderabad M.Tech in Data Science (MDS) | Up to 4 years (48 credits) | About ₹9,90,000 (our arithmetic at non-government rates: 24 × ₹25,000 + 24 × ₹12,500 + ₹15,000 for six semesters) (IITH fees 2026) | BTech in CS/EE/IT/ECE, MCA or CS/IT master's with 70%; 3 years' industry experience; written test and interview (IITH brochure) | Online, weekend classes | Yes: "equivalent to the other MTech programs" (IITH brochure) |
| IIT Hyderabad online M.Tech in Computational Mechanics, Industrial Metallurgy, Integrated Computational Materials Engg, EV Technology; Heritage Science; M.Des by Practice | Up to 4 years | ₹20,000 per theory credit + ₹5,000 per thesis credit + ₹15,000 per semester (₹10,000 per theory credit for Heritage Science) (IITH fees 2026) | Varies; see each programme brochure on iith.ac.in | Online | Not stated |
| IIT Bhilai Executive M.Tech: EV Systems, Mechatronics and Robotics, Data Science and Data Analytics, AI | 2 years (online) | ₹4,11,000 (AI: ₹4,25,000, July 2026 batch) (IIT Bhilai) | 4-year bachelor's or relevant master's with 55%; 2 years' experience in the last 3; knowledge test | Online, offline end-semester exams | No, unless you add a 26-credit offline thesis (IIT Bhilai) |
| IIT Jammu M.Tech in GenAI and Data Science (Executive) | 2 years | ₹4,49,000 + ₹18,000 exam fee (IIT Jammu) | BTech/BE, MSc (IT/CS) or MCA with 60%; 2 years' experience; test and online interview | Online weekends, offline exams, two campus visits | Yes, per Senate (IIT Jammu notice, 20 Aug 2026) |
| IIT Jodhpur PG Diploma, then Executive M.Tech in AI | 1 year PGD + 1 year M.Tech | ₹3,55,000 for the PGD year; M.Tech-year fee not listed (IITJ) | Pre-screening test; M.Tech needs 6.0 CGPA in year 1 and 2 years' experience | Hybrid, campus immersion | Not stated |
| IIT Madras Web-enabled M.Tech (Aerospace, AI, CSE, Electrical, Mechanical, E-Mobility, Process Safety) | 2.5 to 3 years | Not published on the official page (IITM CODE web PG page) | Entrance exam; over 2 years' experience; employer MoU or Letter of Support for the project | Live online, 4 pm–7 pm on weekdays | Not stated |
IIT Madras' web-enabled M.Tech has run since 2017 and says "More than 500 students have graduated with an M.Tech" (IITM CODE web PG page). The next cycle opens on 1 February 2027, with the entrance exam on 11 July 2027 and an application fee of ₹3,000 (CODE brochure, July 2026).
IIT Patna (hybrid M.Tech and MS, IIT Patna CET) and IIT Jodhpur (further executive M.Techs) list more programmes whose fees we could not confirm, so they are left out.
One student weighing an IIT Kanpur online master's against a campus one got this blunt reply:
"Online Masters in economics is not worth considering the cash flow and also no Placements provided." (r/Indian_Academia)
Placement support is thin across the board; IIT Guwahati says conventional on-campus recruitment is not part of its online BSc (IITG). For the campus route, see our IIT M.Tech fees guide and GATE cut-offs for IIT M.Tech.
Online MBAs from IITs
| IIT and programme | Duration | Total fee | Who can apply | Mode |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIT Roorkee Executive MBA | 2 to 5 years | ₹11,42,500 minimum tuition + ₹25,000 registration (Coursera) | Bachelor's with 65% (60% SC/ST) and 4 years' full-time work experience (IITR) | 100% online, via Coursera |
| IIT Jodhpur Executive MBA Technology | 2 years (max 3) | ₹9,15,000 (IITJ) | Bachelor's with 60% and 2 years' work experience; online entrance test | Online, campus immersion |
| IIT Patna MBA | 2 to 4 years | ₹3,28,000 (IITP portal) | Bachelor's with 50% (45% SC/ST/PwD) | Hybrid |
IIT (ISM) Dhanbad lists an Executive MBA and Executive M.Tech for working professionals on its executive programmes page, but that page does not say whether teaching is online, so it is not counted here. For the campus MBA route, see our IIT MBA fees and placements guide.
Is an online IIT degree the same as the on-campus one?
It depends on the IIT, and only some say so in writing. Here is what each one states:
- Same, in the IIT's words: IIT Guwahati (BSc and both M.Techs, identical curricula), IIT Hyderabad (MDS is "a full MTech Program, and is equivalent to the other MTech programs offered by the institute", IITH brochure), and IIT Jammu, whose Senate approved its executive M.Tech as "equivalent to the regular full-time M.Tech. degree in both content and rigor" (IIT Jammu notice, 20 Aug 2026).
- Explicitly not the same: IIT Bhilai says its executive M.Tech "is not equivalent to the regular M.Tech. programs of IIT Bhilai" unless you add an offline thesis on campus (IIT Bhilai).
- No campus twin to compare with: IIT Madras says of its data science degree, "there is no equivalent on-campus version" (IITM BS FAQ).
- Silent: IIT Kanpur, IIT Jodhpur, IIT Patna and IIT Roorkee describe their programmes as degrees awarded at convocation but do not make an equivalence statement on the pages we read.
If equivalence matters for a government job or a PhD, ask the institute for a letter like IIT Jammu's.
Degree vs diploma vs certificate vs NPTEL
A degree (BS, BSc, M.Tech, M.Sc, MBA) is the only thing in this list that counts as a qualification in its own right. A PG diploma from an IIT is a formal award with credits, but it is not a master's. A certificate or executive programme is training. NPTEL courses are free to study; the proctored exam costs ₹1,000 a course and gives an e-certificate, and UGC and AICTE rules let universities count up to 40% of a degree's credits from SWAYAM courses (NPTEL).
| IIT | Notable online programme | What you get | Fee | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIT Delhi | Online PG Diplomas: EV Technology, Healthcare Product Development, Advanced Communication Engineering | PG Diploma, "not equivalent to a full-time residential programme"; certificate says "Online" | Varies by programme | IIT Delhi online PG Diploma FAQ |
| IIT Bombay | e-PG Diploma in AI and Data Science (also E-Mobility, CSE) | Diploma certificate after 36 credits | ₹6,00,000 (our arithmetic: ₹60,000 + 6 × ₹90,000) | IITB ePGD brochure |
| IIT Kanpur | Online PG Diploma in AI and ML; Cyber Security | PG Diploma, can upgrade to the online M.Tech | See page | IITK online programmes |
| IIT Kharagpur | Executive Programme in Technology and AI Leadership (7 months) | Certificate | ₹2,00,000 | IIT KGP programme page |
| IIT Madras | Diploma in Programming or Data Science (exit points of the BS) | Diploma | Part of BS fee | IITM fees |
| All IITs (via NPTEL) | Single courses, 4 to 12 weeks | E-certificate after a proctored exam | Free to learn; ₹1,000 per exam | NPTEL |
The word "executive" does not tell you which one you are buying. IIT Bhilai's and IIT Jammu's "Executive M.Tech" are degrees; IIT Kharagpur's "Executive Programme" is a certificate. Read what the institute says you will be awarded.
How to tell the IIT from an edtech reseller
Many programmes run with a private partner, which is not a red flag by itself. IIT Guwahati teaches on Coursera, IIT Jodhpur's BS and AI programmes and IIT Jammu's M.Tech work with Futurense, and IIT Bhilai says TeamLease EdTech handles "pre-selection of candidates as per our norms ... as well as fee collection" (IIT Bhilai e-Masters page). The risk is buying through a site that only resells or repackages.
- Start on the IIT's own .ac.in domain (iitm.ac.in, iitg.ac.in and so on) and follow its link to the application page, not an ad or a comparison site.
- Match the fee. If an agent quotes a different fee from the .ac.in page, the IIT page wins.
- Look for the word degree. If the IIT page says certificate, executive programme or PG diploma, that is what you get.
- Ask where the fee is paid. IIT Jodhpur, for example, asks admitted students to pay "on IIT Jodhpur portal" (IITJ). IIT Kanpur says its programmes have "no third-party involvement" (IITK online programmes).
- Be wary of placement promises. A student on one partner-run M.Tech put it this way:
"do not rely on futurense blindly for placement because you have to crack the technical rounds yourself anyway." (r/Indian_Academia)
Programmes that have closed or paused
IIT Kanpur eMasters now shows "No Future Admissions to eMasters Program" (IITK eMasters page). IIT Kanpur now admits to the online M.Tech and M.Sc programmes above, and eMasters graduates joining an M.Tech in the same department get the programme and trimester fees waived for four trimesters (IITK).
IIT Jammu issued a notice on 23 December 2024 "temporarily suspending the initiation of new batches for Executive/Online PG programs" (IIT Jammu notice, 23 Dec 2024). That notice is still linked from the M.Tech page, which also lists a September 2026 batch as tentative. Confirm with the institute before paying.
How to check this yourself: dates move. IIT Guwahati listed 30 September 2026 as the deadline for its January 2027 BSc cohort (IITG online degrees); confirm on the institute page the day you apply.
Related reading
- IIT Madras BS degree: the full guide
- IIT M.Tech fees, institute by institute
- IIT M.Tech placements
- IIT JAM guide for the M.Sc route
Enrolled in an IIT online programme? Campus hoodies for every IIT: Madras, Guwahati, Patna, Kanpur, Jodhpur, and the rest of the 23.
By Arun Raghav S · Co-founder, IITian Vibes · Facts retrieved 1 October 2026 from the linked official pages and documents. Corrections to hello@iitianvibes.com.