The highest IIT package on record is ₹4.3 crore — an IIT Madras computer-science student hired by Jane Street as a quantitative trader in Hong Kong (2024-25). It's a real number, and it's also deeply misleading: it went to one student, it's an international posting, and almost every other crore-plus offer across the IITs is the same story — overseas, quant or CS, a single outlier. Here is the honest, per-IIT crore-club, the figures sourced, and the gap between the headline and what a typical graduate actually signs.

What is the highest package at IITs in 2026?
For the latest fully-reported season (2024-25), the headline figures cluster between ₹2 crore and ₹2.4 crore at most top IITs, with IIT Madras' ₹4.3 crore the clear outlier. Crucially, nearly all of these are international postings from trading or US-tech firms — the domestic highs sit far lower (around ₹1–1.5 crore). One caveat that tells you everything: IIT Bombay now refuses to disclose highest CTCs at all, publishing only its median, precisely because the crore-headline coverage distorts expectations.
| IIT | Highest (2024-25) | Type | Role / recruiter | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Madras | ₹4.3 Cr | International (Hong Kong) | CSE quant — Jane Street | CollegeDekho |
| Guwahati | ₹2.4 Cr | International | — | iQuanta |
| (BHU) Varanasi | ₹2.2 Cr | Not stated | — | Careers360 |
| Bombay | ~₹2.2 Cr † | International (Amsterdam) | Quant — Da Vinci | Careers360 |
| Kharagpur | ₹2.14 Cr | Not stated | — | Careers360 |
| Roorkee | ₹2.05 Cr (intl); ₹1.5 Cr (dom) | International | Tech — Databricks | CollegeDekho |
| Delhi | ~₹2.0 Cr (intl); ~₹1 Cr (dom) | International | — | CollegeDekho |
| Indore | ₹1.37 Cr | Not stated | — | Shiksha |
| Hyderabad | ₹66.1 L | Domestic | — | CollegeDunia |
| Kanpur | Not officially confirmed ‡ | International (reported) | — | CollegeDekho |
† IIT Bombay officially discloses only medians; the ₹2.2 Cr figure is media-reported. ‡ IIT Kanpur's top figure is disputed — a ₹5.5 Cr Jane Street claim circulates but is uncorroborated, so we don't state a crore number. Domestic-vs-international is marked "not stated" where sources give the figure but not the posting.
How big is the "crore club" really?
Small. The crore-plus offers are a handful of students per campus, overwhelmingly international: IIT Bombay had 22 students cross ₹1 crore and 78 international offers accepted; IIT Kharagpur had 9 students above ₹1 crore (25 international); IIT Guwahati had 11 (21 international); and IIT Delhi reported 50+ crore-plus offers in Phase 1 (Careers360). As Careers360 put it, these packages "are secured by a limited number of students, mainly from quant and high-frequency trading firms such as Jane Street and Optiver."
Why the headline package is misleading
Because it's one student, and it's not a salary you can compare to anything. The crore figure is an international CTC — it bundles relocation, sign-on and stock — and it lands almost exclusively in CSE + quant/HFT roles. Set it next to the median (the typical graduate) and the gap is brutal: IIT Madras' ₹4.3 crore is roughly 20× its ~₹19–21 lakh B.Tech median; IIT Bombay's reported ₹2.2 crore is ~11× its ₹20 lakh median. That's exactly why IIT Bombay stopped publishing highest CTCs.

For the full, honest distribution — per-IIT medians, placement rates, and the branch-beats-brand reality — see our IIT placements 2026 data.

The per-campus answers people actually search
IIT Bombay highest package 2026
Officially: undisclosed. IIT Bombay publishes only its median (~₹20 lakh) and refuses to release highest CTCs. Media-reported top offer for 2024-25: ~₹2.2 crore, international — a quant posting in Amsterdam with Da Vinci. 22 students crossed ₹1 crore and 78 international offers were accepted. Plan around the median, not the headline.
IIT Madras highest package 2026
₹4.3 crore — the all-time IIT record — a CSE quant offer from Jane Street, posted to Hong Kong (2024-25 season). It is roughly 20× the institute's ~₹19–21 lakh B.Tech median, and that ratio is the real story.
IIT Delhi highest package 2026
Around ₹2 crore international and ~₹1 crore domestic for 2024-25, with 50+ crore-plus offers reported in Phase 1 — the largest crore-club of any campus, and still a small fraction of the batch.
IIT Kanpur highest package 2026
No officially confirmed figure. A ₹5.5 crore Jane Street claim circulates every season and remains uncorroborated — we don't print it as fact, and you shouldn't plan around it.
Guwahati, Kharagpur, BHU, Roorkee
IIT Guwahati ₹2.4 crore (11 students above ₹1 crore) · IIT Kharagpur ₹2.14 crore (9 above ₹1 crore) · IIT (BHU) ₹2.2 crore · IIT Roorkee ₹2.05 crore international / ₹1.5 crore domestic (Databricks). Sources for each are in the table above.
What is the average package at IIT?
The honest version of "average" is the median: about ₹19–21 lakh at the older IITs for B.Tech (IIT Madras ~₹19–21 lakh, IIT Bombay ~₹20 lakh). Arithmetic "averages" run higher because a handful of crore offers drag the mean up — which is exactly why institutes report medians. Full per-IIT medians and placement rates are in the IIT placements 2026 data.
What do students actually say about crore packages?
The reality behind the headlines is dissected candidly in student communities. A 332-comment r/Btechtards thread, "Reason behind 2.5 crore package," breaks down why these numbers exist (international CTC, quant economics, stock), and a 390-comment "Joining Quant, AMA" from someone entering the field lays out how rare and specific that path is. The recurring message: celebrate the outlier, but plan for the median.
How this is sourced
- Highest figures are media-reported, not institute-official in most cases — several IITs (notably Bombay) now publish only medians. Treat each crore number as a single outlier offer, not a representative one.
- Almost all are international postings (Hong Kong, Amsterdam, US) in quant/HFT or US-tech — domestic highs are far lower.
- 2025-26 is in progress: early Phase-1 figures (e.g. IIT Kharagpur ~₹2.44 Cr) are provisional, not final-season numbers.
Last updated: 6 September 2026. Headline figures are from the 2024-25 season, the latest with full disclosure. Partial 2025-26 records — ₹2.5 Cr (Optiver, IIT Hyderabad), ₹2.44 Cr (IIT Kharagpur), ₹1.67 Cr (IIT BHU) — are covered in our 2025-26 report card. Proud of your campus? Shop IIT merch, including IIT Madras gear.